Being a Parent & Writer / Artist

Standard

    My oldest son will be 11 soon, and yes he is changing right before my eyes. This both terrifies me and makes me happy, because he is growing up. I struggle to balance my work and my family like most other parents out there in the world, and there are times we feel as though we are failing. My sons grades have started to slip, they are still good grades but almost all of them down from the beginning of the year. I can see his frustration, but when I try to help he gets angry with me. He used to love reading and doesn’t any more. His teachers tell me how smart he is, and the reasons for his slipping grades are small and fixable, but he wont cooperate with me. I know I don’t spend enough time with my children ether, and he is in a lot of extra activities all year long. I am hoping things will get better this summer when he and I will have time to write the story he wants to do with me, but I don’t know how to help him now.

    Any parents out there in my position before or now? I wouldn’t normally post something like this on my blog, but is this not like a community? So I thought I would ask from others who have been there done that. As much as I hate to admit it, I wasn’t exactly given the best child raising skills growing up, I learned a bit what not to do. So I am feeling a little lost, groping my way through the dark. What have you done?

About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

2 responses »

    • Right now He has himself very busy, then complains about not having enough downtime. Right now I’m not even writing, I am working on the illustrations for my children’s book. Working on it that little a day wouldn’t be hard though. Its a good idea. Thanks for the comment 😀

Leave a Reply

