Tragedy in the Graffiti World

Standard

Image: Israel Hernandez-Llach

I have done many posts on graffiti, and they are some of my most popular posts. Today my post is sad, for tragedy has struck the graffiti world as an 18yo artist was killed by Miami Police. Israel Hernandez-Llach AKA Reefa was killed Tuesday after police found him working on an abandoned building. They chased him down when he ran, the chase ended when they tasered him to death. Witnesses said the officers where clapping, high fiveing each other, and laughing over the boy’s lifeless body.

I am no reporter so here are two links to articles written about this tragedy.

http://news.yahoo.com/hundreds-mourn-tasered-miami-graffiti-artist-000901117.html

http://www.latintimes.com/articles/7276/20130810/israel-hernandez-llach-shot-taser-miami-police.htm#.UgefE_VOSxN

I have always believed graffiti is a magnificent art form. So when I read about this this morning I felt compelled to write about it. Israel Hernandez-Llach would not have faced jail time, a mere fine and perhaps some community service, was it so important they catch him that killing the boy was an option. He wasn’t hurting anyone, the building was empty and unused. Rest in peace young artist, for the tragedy of your death dose not go unnoticed!

Here are a couple peaces of his work I found. He would have been truly grate had he lived to develop his art and self (for as we grow our art too grows), and had already had some of his work in galleries.

Israeltaser-1-articleInline

If any of you have anything you would like to add, or say I would love to hear from you.

About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

5 responses »

  1. This is so sad. Have you ever thought that ancient cave paintings could have just been graffiti from the youth at the time but now they are considered priceless? I need to go read something happy now…

    • Sorry 😦 I know its very sad and you have a good point there, that could be true the first painting was probably a young caveman πŸ™‚ I have some happy stuff too. thanks for checking my blog out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

