Reach For The Stars My Son

Status

My oldest son is ten, and when school starts up for the new year he will be going into 5th grade. For the first time he got homework over the summer, a work packet, and to read a book of his choice. He had chosen Journey To The Center Of The Earth, I was so proud. It’s a shame he lost it, we think one of his brothers hid it. He chose a new one he devoured in a rather short time for him, The Last Star Fighter. Now I had watched this movie when I was around his age, I didn’t even know they had mad a book based off the movie, so I decided to read the book because I’m helping him do his diorama. A few pages in I realized “Wow, this sucks!”. Now that may sound harsh, but Its not a very well written book. Its an Omnipotent POV, for those of you who may not know this POV let me explain. The Omnipotent POV is a voice that can be anywhere and in anyone’s head, at any given time. I have been told this is the hardest POV to write, I can’t say for sure that’s true as I have never tried it. Even as a child I felt more comfortable writing in first person. I feel the writer had to use this point of view as they where most likely stipulations as far as do’s and don’ts, but what was the point in making the book if they where not going to improve the story. Needles to say I’m disappointed, someone can simply watch the movie and cheat as my oldest son so eloquently pointed out to me. He has a good point, so now he has me thinking could this be rewritten, and how would someone go about doing that?

I have to applaud my son, he is fallowing in his mothers footsteps, only he is better with instruments then me πŸ™‚ He has started writing his own novel, so I told him he could do a better job if he works hard and keeps at it like everything else he dose. Instead of the same old “The sky is the limit” I tell my son “Reach for the stars, and you can go far”. He may not believe he is ready for school, and these more advanced books and homework, but I know he is. He is smart and determined, and after all my son, if he can realize all of that on his own I know he has nothing to worry about. So reach for the stars my son, I know you are going far in life.

Happy writing all πŸ™‚ and look for my Artist of the week post starting back up on Friday.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

