I am my own worst enemy when it comes to my writing

Status

I can’t possibly tell you why, but I seem to have a bad habit of making things harder for my self. Hence I am my own worst enemy when it comes to my writing. For example I have read more times then I can count in writing post and blogs and articles on writing, one of the worst mistakes a writer can make is to go back and reread what they have written before they finish their first draft. I can’t seem to stop my self, I can’t just sit and write and write until its all done. So I have realized I have caused my self to get stuck and start over on my novels again and agin. However what can I do about it, other than do my best not to go back and read. I feel like I have to go back and make sure I am on track and I haven’t made some huge mistake. Is there any other writers that have had this problem? I could use some ideas, I am so tiered of getting stuck. I even scraped all but my prologue for Helix and started over, completely changed some important parts Of Celestria so that now the story is completely different then when I started. I know this must be common, I can’t possibly be the only one who has had these problems when working on their first few WIPs. I don’t want to sound like I am complaining, I just know a more experienced writer may know how to get past this type of block.

Happy writing to all 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I use to do this, believing I was catching up with the story to make everything flow but I would totally do this! At the end of my time I’d realize I was reading and not writing. I had to make a conscious decision to just write. I use scrivener and open a new text and just start writing. I don’t know if you can do this but try writing chapters or writing story beats and then go back and make them longer with dialogue. Or just write whatever and decide in the editing process to change it. You’ll get your groove back! The world rewards finishers. Make that the goal and stick to it!

    • Grate advice, thank you. I was sure I wasn’t the only writer to have this problem, but its even better to know 🙂 I think I have edited my prologue almost ten times, but the last one did make a big difference because I have grown a lot as a writer seance I worked on it last. Thanks again 🙂

  2. Just start writing. If you feel stuck in a spot, then try to write out of order. Maybe start with the ending or climax. Later you can always go back to the scene. That’s what I do when I get writer’s block. But I’m the type that doesn’t re-read or edit anything until my first draft is completed.

    Hope everything works out for you 🙂

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

