Today I Write for ME

Standard

So lately I have been trying to add more of my own personal content, it was suggested to me a while back, instead of posts about other writers or artist. My life has been a little crazy recently to say the least. For over two months I was unable to work on my novel at all. My lap top even broke down for about a month, drove me nuts. I am the kind of person that if I am not creating something new out of thin air I go a little bonkers. I have also discovered that the more stressed I am the more creatively blocked I become.

Coming to that realization I have stopped stressing about my novel. I am writing this for me, not for any one else. Yes it would be nice to sell my novel, and I do have an interested publisher (online publisher),  but if its never sold that’s OK. I have been told a first novel is rarely published, so I write this for me either way.

When I came home from my first writer’s group I was energised. It was so nice to sit and talk with another writer, to share our writing experiences, and discuss our trouble coming into the writing world. So after everything I have learned over the two months I didn’t write, and the support from my group I feel ready, prepared to get back on the horse and get to writing. I was even reading through my first draft looking at it with new more knowledgeable eyes seeing where I could change and improve my manuscript.

So here I go to write, excited at the possibilities of implementing my new found knowledge.

Happy writing

About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

2 responses »

  1. It’s nice that you’ve begun a writer’s group, Maria. I hope it helps you make decisions about the mechanics of your writing and your editing process. I hope you’re also still searching for a class situation that can help you. A skilled teacher can do wonders for a new writer.

    I’ve received your invitations to connect on LinkedIn, and I am puzzled by them. We have only communicated a couple of times here on your blog. I don’t recall any comments from you on either of my blogs and I don’t really know you. I wouldn’t be comfortable connecting professionally to you.

    If you have any questions about writing, that you think more established writers might be able to help you with, feel free to ask us in our comments sections. Some writers like to discuss their process, especially if it may benefit others. Visiting other blogs this way can be a productive way to build relationships in your chosen field.

    • I apologise. The invites where supposed to go only to contacts in my yahoo. I do believe the contact we had was right before I had computer trouble, for sum time I had no way to get on the Internet at all.

      Thank you. The hole reason I started it was to connect with others going through the same process as me, braking into the writing world. The group is a big deal to me, and I am excited at the possibilities. My situation is about to change, I believe in the next year I will have the means to take at least an online course. I do however now have an interested online publisher for Helix.

      Thank you for your advice 🙂 I have managed to make connections with other writers, more accomplished then my self. I don’t know if I have a link to your other blog, but I would like one if you would leave it in my comments.
      Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

