Beauty is all around but do we notice it?

Standard

Every day People rush from one destination to another. They see their path ahead, but do they see any thing else? How much do we miss when all we can see is where we are going, never where we have been or our surroundings. If you walk down a busy street do you see the people around you, can you smell the aroma wafting through the air from some not so far off coffee shop? On your morning commute to work do you ever see the small delicate flowers on the rode side while you swear at traffic because you are stuck in place and now late? While driving the kids to school do you take a moment to listen to there laughter as they sing along with the radio?

You get it don’t you. As a hole people miss the little things that make life more enjoyable, bearable even. I have looked at the world a certain way seance a very young age, I believe its the reason I am sane, why I mentally survived certain events in my life. similar events have driven people to become drug addicts, compromised their sanity, and made them hard and cold to the world, tern on their own children even.

The way I have chosen to look at the world is simple, and you see it every time you view my blog. “Look all around you and you will find beauty.” but it goes further then that. Slow down, take the time to observe your surroundings, take in all your seances have to offer. See, smell, touch, taste, and hear what the world and its people have to offer you.

For the most part this doesn’t happen, People see without seeing, move through this world without touching it.

For example (I found this article on facebook) a man stood in a metro station in Washington DC and began to play the violin on a cold January morning. For 45 minutes he played six Bach (one of my favorite composers) pieces. It was rush hour during that time, and it was calculated that 1,100 people went through the station, most on their way to work. All going past him, able to hear him, see him, yet mostly unnoticed.

After three minutes a middle aged man noticed the musician playing. He slowed and even stopped for just a few seconds, but then hurried along to meet his schedule.

Just a minute later the violinist received his first dollar tip. The woman threw the money in the till without stopping, and continued to walk.

The beauty of a child’s wonder, they notice the little things, study them. Children see the every day things we miss, and are captivated and amazed as we should be, but as adults we lost that child like vision.

The one who payed the most attention to the musician was a 3 year old boy with his mother. The child’s mother tagged him along, hurried. Still he stopped to watch the violinist. Finally his mother pushed hard, and the child walk on turning his head all the time. This simple action was repeated by several other children. Without exception all the parents forced the children to move on.

In the 45 minutes the musician played, only 6 people stopped and stayed for a while. About 20 gave him money, but continued to walk their normal pace. He collected $32. When he was finished playing the silence took over, other then the hurried sound of feet. No one noticed, no one applauded, there was no recognition at all.

No one knew, but the violinist was Joshua Bell, one of the most talented musicians in the world. He had just played one of the most intricate pieces ever written, on a violin worth 3.5 million dollars.

Two days before this event Joshua Bell sold out at a theater in Boston. The seats averaged $100 each.

This is all true. Joshua Bell played incognito in that station, it was organized by the Washington Post as part of a social experiment about perception, taste, and priorities of people. The outlines: in a commonplace environment at a inappropriate hour. The questions: Do we perceive beauty? Do we stop to appreciate it? Do we recognize the talent in an unexpected context?

One of the possible conclusions we can gain from this experience could be:

If we do not have a moment to stop and listen to one of the best musicians in the world playing the best music ever written how many other things in our world are we truly missing?

I challenge you, if you do not already take the time to truly enjoy what life has to offer, stop for a moment. Stop for just a moment and listen, see, smell, taste, and feel your surroundings. Find beauty in your world, its there all around you. All you have to do is open your mind to the beautiful possibilities that are right in front of you.

This video Is from the metro station in Washington DC dering the time Joshua Bell played.

This video is one of Joshua Bell performances. I know it is a long video, but watch and enjoy the beautiful music he creates. See the passion and feeling in his face as he plays. It is truly an amazing performance to say the least.

About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Smelling the Roses « christian archdp

Leave a Reply

