Art of the day 2/12/12 : Art and Fire

Image

Man has had a long and deep seeded fascination with fire. Fire changed the course of human history. The ability to control fire was a dramatic change in the habits of early humans.

Making fire to generate heat and light made it possible for people to cook food, increasing the variety and availability of nutrients. Fire has also been used for centuries as a method of torture and execution, as evidenced by death by burning as well as torture devices such as the iron boot, which could be filled with water, oil, or even lead and then heated over an open fire to the agony of the wearer. There are numerous modern applications of fire. In its broadest sense, fire is used by nearly every human being on earth in a controlled setting every day. Users of internal combustion vehicles employ fire every time they drive. Thermal power stations provide electricity for a large percentage of humanity. Gas burning stoves use fire to cook our food, camp fires to keep use worm, lighters, matches, fire works, weapons. Fire is a part of our every day lives, in both a creative and destructive manner.

The use of fire in warfare has a long history. Fire was the basis of all early thermal weapons. Homer detailed the use of fire by Greek commandos who hid in a wooden horse to burn Troy during the Trojan war. Later the Byzantine fleet used Greek fire to attack ships and men. In the First World War, the first modern flamethrowers were used by infantry, and were successfully mounted on armoured vehicles in the Second World War. In the latter war, incendiary bombs were used by Axis and Allies alike, notably on Tokyo, Rotterdam, London, Hamburg and, notoriously, at Dresden, in the latter two cases firestorms were deliberately caused in which a ring of fire surrounding each city.

There are people so obsessed with fire they will set places aflame just to watch them burn, arsonist. Now I have always loved fire, but not so much I would burn down my own home. But one of my favorite parts of camping is siting under the stars around a camp fire, watching both the sky and the wood in front of be burn. Siting there watching the flames dance and jump, twist, rise and fall, its a beautiful thing to know something so magical can be so helpful yet destructive. Its all in the person who is using it. In my novel in progress I have mutants who all have different powers, my main character’s main power is control and creation of fire, her other miner power is energy signature recognition.

Fire can be a very beautiful thing capturing the imagination of man, and that is why today I have chosen fire for my art of the day. Feel free to add anything I may have missed. Most of my information for this post came from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fire

Now for art and fire. I worn you I found 20 peaces of art I really liked and felt where write for this post.

2 responses »

  1. I’m glad that I’ve found your artfulhelix.wordpress.com website. I have to say that it’s a neat blog! I love how particular each of the entries are. They are well balanced, both informative and funny, and the pictures are cool too.

Leave a Reply

