Art of the day 2/8/12: Body painting

Image

Still having trouble in the dashboard/Read blogs. So again I did a google search in hopes of finding an artist for today’s post. I did find art, But the artist or artists are unknown. I have always found body painting cool. To match up someones body with the photo underneath is just amazing art indeed. Admittedly its more common to paint on a woman then a man, I only found one good photo of a man but for some reason it won’t add it. Like canvas, the body is full of possibilities.

Modern body painting

A young woman with a butterfly painted on her chest

There has been a revival of body painting in the Western society since the 1960s, in part prompted by the liberalization of social mores regarding nudity and often comes in sensationalist or exhibitionist forms.[4] Even today there is a constant debate about the legitimacy of body painting as an art form. The current modern revival could be said to date back to the 1933 World’s Fair in Chicago where Max Factor and his model were arrested for causing a public disturbance when he bodypainted her with his new make-up formulated for Hollywood films. Body art today evolves to the works more directed towards personal mythologies, as Jana Sterbak, Rebecca Horn, Youri Messen-Jaschin or Javier Perez.

Body painting is not always large pieces on fully nude bodies, but can involve smaller pieces on displayed areas of otherwise clothed bodies.

Body painting led to a minor alternative art movement in the 1950s and 1960s, which involved covering a model in paint and then having the model touch or roll on a canvas or other medium to transfer the paint. French artist Yves Klein is perhaps the most famous for this, with his series of paintings “Anthropometries”. The effect produced by this technique creates an image-transfer from the model’s body to the medium. This includes all the curves of the model’s body (typically female) being reflected in the outline of the image. This technique was not necessarily monotone; multiple colors on different body parts sometimes produced interesting effects.

Demi’s Birthday Suit – Vanity Fair cover, August 1992

Joanne Gair is a body paint artist whose work appeared for the tenth consecutive year in the 2008 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue. She burst into prominence with a August 1992 Vanity Fair Demi’s Birthday Suit cover of Demi Moore.[5][6] Her Disappearing Model was part of an episode of Ripley’s Believe It or Not!.[7]

Two body painted women in a PETA protest against the fur trade

Body painting is commonly used as a method of gaining attention in political protests, for instance those by PETA against Burberry.

To read more on body painting visit http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Body_painting

 So here are some of the photos I found regarding this work, enjoy.

Artist : Craig Tracy

Artist : Craig Tracy

Artist : Craig Tracy

9 responses »

  1. Its aw some collection and art work. I am very happy to see such an art work. It makes me feel like painting is really a very cool stuff to deal with. some of above picture we cant even specify the girl with the wall. while we think that its only the wall not the girl standing in it.

    Hats off to such great art work and paintings

  2. Omg. I love the pictures. It’s an absolutely amazing collection.

    Umm. Kill me for pointing this out if you did it intentionally, but there’s a typo in your title. It says “bady” instead of “body”. Just saying.

    Love the article though. 🙂

  3. Pingback: ART@TheMix #1: Have You Heard What’s New in Tacoma? « Reply2Julian

  4. Hi. Congratulations on the blog. I appreciate your enthusiasm for art. I believe that just about all the unidentified works you’ve posted (the ones below the paintings by Craig Tracey) are body paintings by Emma Hack. You should check that out and add her name in a credit line. I suggest that unless you have an artist’s permission, it’s ok to use 2 or 3 of an artist’s images, and then you should point your viewer to their website: http://emmahackartist.com/
    I know that this is the way I feel about it when people re-post my work.
    If you’d like to learn more about body painting you can check out that category on my site: http://thestorybehindthefaces.com/

    • Thank you, I have always love art. I appreciate you giving me the name, I tried to find it but every site I got the photos from didn’t have names for them, it was very aggravating. If I can find an artist and their web site I always accredit them and add a link to their site. As it is now I am no longer posting work I can’t find an artist for. Its important to me that I tell me readers where they can find more of the artist work to view, even articles I find done on them, and there website. I have been thanked by many artist for doing posts on them and I love that even they enjoy them. Thank you again for taking the time to give me this information.

Leave a Reply

