How rude!

Standard
 

I had joined a writers group some time ago called My Writers Circle. I had stopped going there because people there don’t seem to have any manners. It is one thing to give constructive criticism, another to be plain rude. Its like what the heck did I do for you to get such an attitude with me. Yesterday I decided to give the site one more try. I figured it couldn’t heart right. I posted my poem Stuck in my head there, witch is about writers block. This is two out of the three replies I got :

 

When I get ‘writers block’ which is hardly ever, but when I do
I just write. I write anything, even words about not being able to write, but I don’t poet them.
This comes across as no more than a mind-dump.
Very poor post.

 

Now this one is just rude. Plus writing about not being able to write is exactly what I did, but in a structure. The way he said he dose it is a mind dump if you ask me. I chose to create something out of my writer‘s block. How is this comment helpful, it only said he doesn’t like it, and that he is sapearier to me.

 He then said after a little back and forth.

I am absolutely positive that there “are people on other sites that loved it.”
You may find some here. I did not.
If you choose to stay in RMP you may want to indicate
what level of criticism you are comfortable with.

1. I found the opening lines to be weak and Telling.
2. The rest of S1 is very unoriginal and over-the-top. It lacks any inward visual that a reader might expect.
3. The first line of S2 is naively retro, romantically rhetorical and frankly dopey.
4. The rest of S2 is repetitive and platitudinous.
5. The lines in S3 are just ridiculously blah –

“How long shall I roam
unable to return home
o muse where have you gone
I beg you wont you come”

6. The last stanza is stunningly predictable and poorly expressed.

I usually don’t offer a detailed review for such poor writing, but you requested it.

Learn!

**********

 

A first draft?Pick another subject maybe? This didn’t work for me. I will see if I can dig out an old one that was my take on writer’s block.

 

Found it…………..

 

A writer’s life

 

Mont Blanc
in sweaty grip, he stares
at the empty sheet of vellum
in front of him on the cracked antique bureau
with a sigh he leans back in his Chippendale chair

 

stands up, wipes his watery eyes,
cleans his Ray Bans, slips into
his Barbour, green wellingtons,
takes the shotgun from the rack,
rubbing the polished stock he smiles
and closes the back door firmly

 

Now this one at least is a little more constructive, but still trying to tell me he is better. This peace is not clear its about writers block, it sounds more about suicide. It isn’t that its bad, simply not clear.

 

This is the poem that prompted these responses. I have posted it before but in case you haven’t read it before I figured I would add it.

I am stuck in my head

what a sad place to be

words run round and elude me

Images flash by

some real some only mine

I stomp I scream I let it all out

I wish for peace but scramble about

Where have you gone o muse of mine

am I to stay here for all time

am I to run round desperate to fly

if only you’d come lift me to the sky

if only I could catch those thought that fly by

I sit and wait hands full

I sit and wish for only you

you fill my mind

yet my hands sit idly by

How long shall I roam

unable to return home

o muse where have you gone

 I beg you wont you come

 Make my idle hands fly

 across my keyboard words wont come

still I sit and wait for you to return

 Not every line rhymes, but this is called free form poetry. That is the only site I have gotten any bad comments at all. On the other sites I posted it to I have gotten nothing but good, two spelling fixes and that they really liked it. I even posted it to http://xynobooks.com/ and got this comment from one of the admins :

 Maria, please, talk to Nick the editor about writing your thoughts on the main site–in addition to your novel aspirations.

 I did, and was then asked if I would blog along with there other writer, and before I could reply he upgraded me to an author account. I of course accepted. But here is a good question, if it was so bad Then why would they have asked me? A family friend in FL even read it to her church, and it reseaved grat aplose from the hole congrigation. So give your honest opinion. Am I over reacting, I may be just a little. But on a post about my book on the very same site I was told I had no taling and shouldn’t be writing, no ideas on how to improve just hertful words I egnored.

Here are some sites I do like for writing, you can get good constructive comments :

http://www.ladieswhocritique.com

http://xynobooks.com/

http://allpoetry.com

http://www.writing.com

http://wherewritersmeet.proboards.com/index.cgi

About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

2 responses »

    • Thank you. Although I have to say he did get under my skin, messed with me on a bad day. I told him I felt he was being rude and he got even worse about it. I have decided not to go back there, not to feed into it. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

