Art of the day 2/1/12 : Vintage miniature city

Image

Art of the day 2/1/12 : Chicquero (Vintage miniature city)

I love today’s subject. Looking at the photos I can almost see my self walking through the old buildings in a post apocalypse world.

Chicquero

Miniature series entitled “The City” by Lori Nix

I’m a little obsessed with the idea of this equation:
miniature + city + abandoned + vintage + photography = Awesomeness

Lori Nix is often asked questions about the inspiration for her work as well as her working process.

“I have been building dioramas and photographing the results since the early 1990s. As I’ve working through various bodies of work my fabrication skills have improved and my subject matter has become more complex. With The City series I have moved indoors, creating architectural interiors. This has proven most difficult yet most rewarding. Currently it takes about seven months to build a scene and two to three weeks to shoot the final image. I build these in my Brooklyn living room. I have miniature power tools throughout the apartment, a chop saw under the kitchen table, a miniature table saw on top. The…

View original post 118 more words

27 responses »

  1. I hardly write comments, however i did some searching and wound up here Vintage Miniature City! artfulhelix. And I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be just me or does it look like some of the responses look like they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Could you make a list of every one of your communal pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  2. Hello, I believe your blog might be having browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful site!

  3. I write a leave a response when I like a article on a website or I have something to add to the conversation. It is triggered by the fire communicated in the article I read. And on this post Vintage Miniature City! artfulhelix. I was actually excited enough to post a thought 😉 I do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be just me or does it seem like a few of these comments appear like they are left by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to follow anything new you have to post. Could you make a list every one of your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. I just want to mention I am just all new to blogging and seriously loved you’re web page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your site . You really have great stories. With thanks for sharing your blog.

  5. Thanks for an unbelievable post, will examine your personal others reviews. many thanks for your thinking within this, I experienced somewhat made an impact to by this short article. Thanks again! You earn a great aspect. Displays the beauty through excellent facts here. I do think that if more individuals thought of it that way, they’d have got a better time obtain the hold ofing the difficulty.

  6. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  7. I became honored to receive a call coming from a friend as soon as he discovered the essential guidelines shared on the internet site. Studying your weblog posting is really a real exceptional experience. Thanks once again for considering readers like me, and I wish you the top of success for a skilled in this region. nobel calling card

  8. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

Leave a Reply

