Lullaby for Helix

Standard

I am showing a more sensitive side of sora. Remembering a time when she would crawl into bed with her parents after a bad dream. This is as rough as it gets. I literally just wrote this only minutes ago.

  Walking to my room my anticipation starts to bubble over. Jessie will meet me in my room. It was my father‘s and mother’s room. I can remember going into their room at night after having a bad dream. My surroundings dark and daunting. I felt like the shadows would reach out and grab me. Pull me away to some far away evil place. I would stand in the door way silently watching them sleep. My father would wake up and motion for me to come over. Climbing into bed with them felt worm and safe. Like nothing could hurt me. I would snuggle in between them. The soft blanket soothing as my father would sing me a lullaby.
  The moon is high
  the stars how they shine
  on this perfect clear night
  The new world awaits
  tomorrow a brand new day
  Now close your eyes
  imagine outside
  the moon so full
  not a shadow in site
  close your eyes
  on this perfect clear night                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           the moon so full and high

I would fall asleep instantly every time. I find it comforting to sleep in their room. To snuggle up with their blanket. I feel like they are there with me, holding me. If I can’t fall asleep I sing my lullaby. He wrote that just for me, when I was only two months old. My father spent a lot of time out side, it was his way of telling me what he could see.

So any thoughts?

About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

7 responses »

  1. i don’t think rhyme is all that important in a lullaby – its the words themselves that count, that they are symbolic, and meaningful, and soothing – in which case this lullaby has it all

Leave a Reply

