About Helix-war of 3031

Standard

My book Helix-War of 3031 (te name may change) is in the beginning stage. My heroine Sora, All she wants is to run Helix in a way that would make her father proud, and be ready when the war comes. She has to save humanity, and the advanced humans she calls her people. Her father was a strong, wise, and loving man to say the least. Her uncle murdered him in front of her without knowing, her mother killed her self after that, leaving her uncle to care for her when she was 11 years old. She wants to kill her uncle for what he did, but he is the last living family she has left.  She takes over Helix on here 19th birthday as her father wished, but no one believes she can do the job. She was kept from training in Helix, but that doesn’t mean she didn’t train, now she has to show them that. She has to finally let someone know who she really is, the parts of her she hides will be her greatest strength when she embraces them. lucky for her the right person just came into her life. With new knowledge of her past, the possibility of strong allies, and a new found love. Can she find the true potential she holds, can she become the hero her father new she could be. Can she save her people and the humans from the destruction her father prophesied?

I have only just started, But I am having fun writing it. after a good critique of my first two chapters I have more confidence in my ability to write a book. Some of it needs to change because its not quit right, but the rest it very good. I would like to share a bit of my first chapter (first draft) with you.

                            chapter one

My name is Sora, I was born the day the doors opened.
So my birthday goes unnoticed every year, which is 
fine with me. I never have understood birthday 
celebrations, it's only the passing of another year. 
Besides age is nothing but a number, its what is 
in your heart and mind. You can be 45 and still 
be just like a child. How you carry yourself, 
the way you think, the path in life you choose, 
everything you say and do, we are our actions 
not our age. Like my dear uncle Rasputin, he 
throws fits like a child. This year I turn 
nineteen, no mater what happens I know I 
have a job to do. Take my father's place 
and lead our kind into battle for the future
of all. Most start there training when 
finished with school, but my uncle has kept
me away from it all “for the memory of your 
father” he keeps saying. So when I take over 
I'll only have a short time to train with the
others. None of them think I can do the job, 
mainly because I've never trained with them. 
What not a single one of them knows is, I 
have a special place no one else knows about, 
my very own oasis I spend all my spare time in, 
thinking and training.
 This week is the festival that is thrown every
year in celebration of the day the door opened, 
the day our thousand year imprisonment underground
ended. Let me explain how we got here, how the human 
race ran deep in the earth from our own mistakes, 
from the destruction we knew we would do. How human 
kind changed on the genetic level, and why we now 
have yet another war coming. Can human kind live 
without war or violence? Will we ever find peace
and happiness, or one day destroy everyone and
everything on this planet. We almost did over
a thousand years ago, why not again. I intend to
make sure it never happens.
About artfulhelix

I'm a mother to three beautiful boys, 8 years, 2 years, and 1 year old, all there birthdays in April with mine (very busy month). I am a wife to a wonderful man who supports every thing I want to do. I have 10 piercings and 11 tattoos, more tattoos coming soon. I am an artist, painting, tattooing, sculpting (haven't done that for a long time), poetry, and a few small crafts. As an artist I felt writing was the next logical step for me. I am enjoying every minute of it, writing, blogging (never thought I would blog), and critiquing. I not only want to talk about my book and the writing proses, but art in general in my blog. I would like to share a poem I wrote a few years ago, but is so me. I came up with it when a very old woman came up to me on the side walk and said " Do you know you are going to hell?" laughing a little inside I said "No, why am I going to hell?" "Because you have desecrated the lords temple with all your piercings and tattoos!" She looks so serious when she said this. I said "I'm not desecrating, I'm decorating!" well that made her mad of course, and she stomped off. later I wrote this: You look at me that way in disgust and disdain I’m pierced and tattooed I must be insane But who are you to judge when you kneel down and pray Just because our beliefs are not the same We are not so different you and I for we are all the same when we die This is nothing against religion, merely about judgment in general. Can't wait to share more of what I love and who I am.

Leave a Reply

